I am a disciple of Jesus Christ

jesus-calming-sea_1296840_inl

By Greg Robbins  ( e-mail:  gregrobbins@yahoo.com )

Today it seems that it is regarded as heresy to be a disciple of Jesus Christ. This is a shame really, and only goes to prove that most people really don’t know their Bible very well. Let’s look for a moment at what a disciple is, at least some of the aspects of being a disciple.

The disciples of John the Baptist lived with John, heard his teaching, observed his lifestyle, imitated him, and believed his doctrine. They did not live with Jesus, hear his teaching, observe his lifestyle, imitate him, or believe his doctrine. Why? They were not his disciples. They were the disciples of John the Baptist. Now, Andrew started out being the disciple of John the Baptist, until he heard John say, “Behold the lamb of God who takes away the sin of the world.” Then Andrew stopped being John’s disciple and became the disciple of Jesus. Disciples were dedicated to their master. They were not double-minded, nor were they divided in their allegiance to their master. They were faithful.

2011-family-street-preaching-004

I myself am a disciple of Jesus Christ. I am not a disciple of John the Baptist, and neither am I a disciple of the apostle Paul. My allegiance is to Jesus Christ. So naturally I desire to imitate Jesus, hear his teaching all the time, learn his doctrine, obey him, and tell others about him. It is also natural that I do not pay the least bit of attention to the doctrine of Paul. I am not Paul’s disciple and I never will be. I am the disciple of Jesus Christ and I am dedicated to his doctrine.

mark-missman-be-still-my-soul

You who are the disciples of Paul beware. To follow Paul you must ignore the teaching and doctrine of Jesus. You will end up doing this in the name of dispensationalism, or some other clever explanation. You will end up rejecting the doctrine of Jesus Christ and thereby reject Jesus himself. The Apostle John has a warning for you.

2 John 1:9 “Whosoever transgresses, and abides not in the doctrine of Christ, has not God: He that abides in the doctrine of Christ, he has both the Father and the Son.”

5 thoughts on “I am a disciple of Jesus Christ

  1. Please keep in touch. My life is all about serving the Lord. My brother and I have started our mission to spread the gospel of Christ. His ministry is Messiah’s Way Full Faith Ministry, and I have M.U.F.F.I.N. which is (M.W.F.F.M). I thought to serve those who hunger,and in need of food and clothing. My brother feeds the hunger of the soul. You can find him on Facebook. Just type in Messiah’s Way Full Faith Ministry.

    Like

    • Thank you for your encouraging words. I’m very glad to hear that you have a heart to feed and clothe the needy. There is never any lack of people to help. Jesus told the the disciples, “The poor you always will have with you”. Until this day that is very true. There is much work to do but only few workers to do it. I encourage you to get busy and keep busy. The time is short and the rewards will be worth it on the day of judgement. Love the Lord by serving him by serving others. God bless.

      Like

Leave a Reply

